top of page

Rotorcraft - Restricted Category, Military Surplus - Ineligible Serial Numbers

Serial numbers of foreign military rotorcraft and rotorcraft that have been reported to be destroyed and are not eligible for certification.

Destroyed Helicopters

FAA Order 8020.11A, "Aircraft Accident and Incident Notification, Investigation, and Reporting," dated August 2, 1991, defines destroyed aircraft as "aircraft damaged to the extent that it would be impracticable to return the aircraft to an airworthy condition." The NTSB Aviation Accident and Incident Data System lists those aircraft determined by the National Transportation Board as being destroyed. This database, updated monthly by the National Transportation Safety Board, can provide you with a list of all "destroyed" helicopters, or just specific models. Try typing the following in the "Narrative Search" block to get a comprehensive list: destroyed and helicopter

Then click on "Search NTSB". To narrow the list to a specific make/model, just type the word "destroyed", then look further down the page for a menu of all the aircraft manufacturers and select a specific make/model.1

Helicopters Not Eligible for Restricted Category

14 CFR 21.25(a)(2) states that to be eligible for a restricted category certificate, the helicopter must have been used by the U.S. military. Therefore, any foreign military used surplus helicopter or part is not eligible for FAA certification in a restricted category under 14 CFR 21.25(a)(2). These helicopters were either delivered to foreign military organizations, or were involved in a lend/lease program in a foreign military organization. These helicopters and their components are ineligible for operation in the U.S. because they are known to have been used in foreign military operations. Foreign Military Helicopter Serial Numbers (PDF)

Military aircraft in DoD surplus Category B (those aircraft not intended for further flight or intended for scrap or ground use only) are not eligible for restricted category certification. Helicopters sold as scrap by state agencies acting on behalf of the United States are also considered ineligible for restricted category certification.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page